S’Mores!

One surprising non-vegan food is the common marshmallow.  Yes, it contains gelatin (Wikipedia defines this as, “a protein produced by partial hydrolysis of collagen extracted from the boiled bones, connective tissues, organs and some intestines of animals such as domesticated cattlepigs, and horses”) so it’s not on the menu for most vegans.  However, S’mores are a huge American tradition, one I wanted to pass on to my children this BBQ season.

I found a vegan marshmallow at my Whole Foods store (only one locally still carries it, what’s up with that??), a natural graham cracker (it does contain honey), and some vegan chocolate squares, and voila!  Of course, I used the broil setting on my toaster oven instead of my grill flame just in case these marshmallows, I don’t know, exploded or something.  They puffed up quite nicely and melted the chocolate just enough to be gooey.  The crackers are rather fragile so they cracked a bit (hey, they are crackers...little joke) while eating.

Here is what I used:

Mi-Del Classic Honey Grahams
Endangered Species Dark Chocolate
Sweet & Sara Vegan Marshmallows

Enjoy!

IMG_0027.jpg

IMG_0029.jpg